The Counterterrorism Education Learning Lab (CELL) is dedicated to preventing terrorism through education, empowerment and engagement. As a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution, its one-of-a-kind exhibit, renowned speaker series and training initiatives provide a comprehensive look at the threat of terrorism and how individuals can play a role in preventing it, ultimately enhancing public safety.



Board of Directors


  • Melanie Pearlman, Executive Director
  • Tom Ruppel, Assistant Director
  • Jordan Clark, Assistant Director
  • Melanie Avner, Communications Specialist
  • Elizabeth Cychosz, Associate Education and Guest Services Manager
  • Makayla Wendland, Senior Guest Services Associate
  • Zachary Sanfilippo, Senior Guest Services Associate
  • Tyler Johnson, Project Coordinator
  • Elizabeth Manning, Administrative and Database Assistant
  • Rachel Kapicak, Associate Marketing and Engagement Manager

Valued Contributors

  • Zainab Al-Suwaij
    Executive Director, American Islamic Congress
  • The Honorable Nir Barkat
    Mayor of Jerusalem
  • Ralph Basham
    Commissioner of U.S. Customs and Border Protection (2006 – 2009)
  • The Honorable Michael Bennet
    U.S. Senator (Colorado)
  • The Honorable William Brownfield
    Assistant Secretary, Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs
  • Todd Brunelle
    Creative Director, Corruptive Media
  • Dave Cohen
    Strategic Consultant, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
  • Craig Coy
    CEO of Massachusetts Port Authority (2002 – 2006)
  • Zane DeHerrera
    Strategic Consultant
  • The Honorable Christopher Dodd
    U.S. Senator (1981 – 2011)
  • James “Chip” O. Ellis, III
    Former Program Director, Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
  • The Honorable Newt Gingrich
    Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives (1995 – 1999)
  • His Excellency Husain Haqqani
    Pakistan’s Ambassador to the United States (2008 – 2011)
  • The Honorable Gary Hart
    U.S. Senator (1975 – 1987)
  • Christopher Hill
    Dean of the Josef Korbel School of International Studies, University of Denver United States Ambassador to Iraq (2009 – 2010)
  • Bruce Hoffman
    Professor and Director, Georgetown University Center for Peace and Security Studies
  • Micheline Ishay
    Director of the International Human Rights Program, University of Denver
  • Brian Jenkins
    Senior Advisor, RAND Corporation
  • Clifford May
    President, Foundation for Defense of Democracies
  • C. Suzanne Mencer
    Director, Colorado Emergency Preparedness Partnership
  • Greg Moore
    Editor, The Denver Post
  • Oscar Morales
    Founder, “One Million Voices Against the FARC”
  • The Honorable Janet Napolitano
    Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • The Honorable Bill Owens
    Governor of Colorado (1999 – 2007)
  • General Victor E. Renuart, Jr. USAF (Ret.)
    Commander, NORAD/USNORTHCOM (2007 – 2010)
  • The Honorable Tom Ridge
    Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (2003 – 2005)
  • The Honorable Bill Ritter, Jr.
    Governor of Colorado (2007 – 2011)
  • Gabor Rona
    International Legal Director, Human Rights First
  • The Honorable Craig Stapleton
    United States Ambassador to France (2005 – 2009)
  • Charles Cully Stimson
    Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Detainee Affairs (2004 – 2007)
  • Rick Trank
    Academy Award-winning Film Producer
  • Kenneth Wainstein
    United States Homeland Security Advisor (2008 – 2009)
  • Admiral James A. Winnefeld, Jr.
    Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Juan Carlos Zarate
    Senior Adviser, Center for Strategic and International Studies


Jobs & Internships

Job Opportunities

Currently, there are no open positions. We encourage you to check back.

Internship Opportunities

The Counterterrorism Education Learning Lab (CELL) offers several semester-based internships throughout the year. We are accepting resumes for the upcoming semester.

To apply for an internship, email your resume and a cover letter to opportunities@thecell.org. Please include “internship” in the subject line of your email.